Lincoln County Tennessee Header

About Lincoln County
County Officials
County Offices
Departmental Directory
County Commission
Legislative Delegation
LC Board of Public Utilities
Recent News
Industrial Development

Helpful Links

Lincoln County Election Commission

Pay Your Court Costs Online

Chamber of Commerce
Lincoln County EMA
City of Fayetteville
Department of Education
Fayetteville City Schools
Museum and Civic Center
Main Street
Lincoln Medical Center
Local Weather
Online Library Catalog


Host of Christmas Past
Bluegrass Festival
Fabulous Fifties Show
Dirt Sweat & Gears
Carriage House Players

Lincoln County Fair
Camp Blount Celebration

County Commission

Lincoln County Mayor
112 Main Avenue South, Room 101
Fayetteville, TN 37334
(931) 433-3045
Fax: (931) 433-9979

The County Commission serves as the legislative branch of the County government. Lincoln County is divided into eight districts, with total of 24 commissioners, three in each district. County Commissioners are elected in the regular August election for a four-year term beginning September 1, after the election. Commissioners must be: (1) over eighteen; (2) citizen of the United States and Tennessee; (3) residents of the state, county, district, or circuit for the period required by state law. At least four regular meetings per year must be held. The County Commission chair is elected annually by a majority of the Commissioners. The County Mayor or a majority of legislative body members may call a special meeting with adequate public notice. The County Commission provides a proper and open forum for public policy debates and annually adopts a property tax rate and budget. Currently, regular monthly meetings are scheduled for the 3rd Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. DST, 6:00 p.m. CST, in the Circuit Court Room of the Courthouse.

The County Commission operates on a committee system (click here) to view names of committee members.

Lincoln County operates under the 1981 Financial Management Act, which means the financial (budgets) are consolidated in one central location – the Finance Director’s office. Audits are performed by the State of Tennessee.

The Lincoln County Medical Facilities, the Lincoln County Board of Public Utilities, Solid Waste Inter-local and the Lincoln County Schools are independent of their day- to- day operations, being governed by the Lincoln County Legislative Body. The Body is responsible for approving their annual budgets and bond issues.

All elected and appointed officials are responsible for the duties of their office.

Hosted and designed by JMcNeal Business Services